top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBobbie Olan Casiano

Dealgan & Distaff - Days 9 to 11 of Tour de Fleece '24

Greetings spinning enthusiasts! Welcome to another slow spinning video. This is my first Tour de Fleece and I wanted to share my journey with you.


Challenges:

- Learn to spin on a dealgan spindle

- Learn to use a distaff (a short broom to mimic a floor distaff)

- Spin a fractal for the first time

- Spin semi-woollen for the first time (since beginners spinning class)





I'm getting the hang of this "floor distaff" but haven't decided yet if I prefer it to the niddy noddy "belt distaff". It does limit me to sitting while spinning and I did like having the option previously. Spinning from a thinner chunk of roving is definitely a lot friendlier than a thicker one though.


And spinning from a chain... well, it means I don't have to manipulate the distaff as much and I sort of like how the fibre clings to itself. But sometimes it clings too much and gives me little bits of almost felted fluff. You win some, you lose some!


The dealgan is the second type of drop spindle I've ever tried. I'm not trying to spin every day, so my spinning days don't correspond with Tour de Fleece days.


Hope you have fun watching me stumble along!



Resources


Fibre: Ixchel Bunny

Blend: Shetland Dream (Shetland, mulberry silk, cashmere)

Colourway: Ankh Morpork

留言


bottom of page