top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBobbie Olan Casiano

Dealgan & Distaff - Day 3 of Tour de Fleece '24

Greetings everyone! Welcome to another slow spinning vlog. This is my first time participating in Tour de Fleece and I wanted to share my journey with you.


Challenges:

- Learn to spin on a dealgan spindle

- Learn to use a distaff (I'm using a niddy noddy in lieu of an actual distaff)

- Spin a fractal for the first time

- Spin semi-woollen for the first time (since beginners spinning class)





On this third day of spinning, I discovered an easier way to handle the (niddy noddy) distaff. It's less portable, but it allows me to spin a bit more before needing to wind the yarn on. My distaff/fibre hand is also less encumbered.


The dealgan is the second type of drop spindle I've ever tried. I'm not trying to spin every day, so my spinning days don't correspond with Tour de Fleece days.


Hope you have fun watching me stumble along!



Resources


Fibre: Ixchel Bunny

Blend: Shetland Dream (Shetland, mulberry silk, cashmere)

Colourway: Ankh Morpork


"Distaff" aka niddy noddy: Bendigo Woodturners

Comments


bottom of page