top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBobbie Olan Casiano

#040 - Japan and back again

This episode is mostly one big Eye Candy where I share all of the crafty purchases I made in Japan and since returning home. There are also a couple of ongoing Handy Dandy knits.



Eye Candy
  • All of my acquisitions from:

    • Okadaya

    • Daruma

    • Walnut

    • Stationery stuff for crafting

    • Coburg Yarn Market

Handy Dandy
  • Dione by Natasja Hornby

    • Started swatching with newly bought Tarndie yarn

  • Haskins by Veronica Avery

    • Finished the back and the front

    • Need to do sleeves but had to unravel erroneous version and wash yarn first

    • Minor tweak to the pattern (mirrored increases instead of non-mirrored)

    • Special techniques used


Heart Full of Craft
  • Gratitude for a generous friend - I asked for a favour and they turned it into a gift!


 

Resources


Mentions

Walnut (Amirisu)

Itoya (stationery)

Neue (stationery)

HandKnit & Crochet Guild, Annual Market

Binding Off in the Middle of a Row, by Roxanne Richardson


Patterns (on Ravelry)

Knitted Four Corner Bag by Julie Weisenberger

Traveler's Bag & Pouch (sewing) by Daruma

Highland Spring by Annie Modesitt

Dione by Natasja Hornby

Haskins by Veronik Avery


Yarns (from my LYS, or on Ravelry)

Amirisu, Parade

Daruma, yarn from Japan

Tarndwarncoort, yarns from Polwarth sheep

IxCHeL Fibres, Yarns & Art




I acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land on which I live and create, the Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung people. I pay my respects to their Elders, past, present and emerging, and to all Aboriginal peoples.

 

© 2022 by Bobbie Olan of Platypus Knitting.

bottom of page