top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBobbie Olan Casiano

#018 - One new WIP and many FO's

It's all about the finished objects! They include one knit, a few yarns, and a couple of weaves. To balance out the knitting against the other crafts a bit more though, I have also cast on a new sweater and will soon be starting a test knit. So many (self imposed) deadlines, so little time...




Transcript

Welcome to Episode 18 of Bobolog. Today I will be sharing quite a few FO's - or finished objects - only one of which is knitting, and I also have one new cast on.


Greetings and thank you for joining me here in my little woolly corner of the world. My name is Bobbie Olan and I am a knitter and fibre artist in Victoria, Australia where I live with my partner. I would like to acknowledge the traditional owners of the land on which I live and create - the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people - and I would like to pay my respects to them, their Elders, and all Aboriginal peoples, past, present and future.



On My Person

I will start off today with On My Person which I very rarely do because like I have said quite a few times before I don't do a lot of knitting for myself. But this gorgeous top is actually a test knit that I did for "Nah-mah Ee-do" or "Nah-ah-mah Eye-doh." I'm not sure how to say that, I'm so sorry. But this is a pattern that I found through the hashtag 'test knitters wanted' or something like that on Instagram.


So I can't remember when I did this, I didn't make note of what year this was, but it was a few years ago and I saw it on Instagram and I actually somehow had capacity to do it. So I- I volunteered for the test knit and I have this beautiful beautiful top. So it is called the Necklace Top because of this gorgeous necklace-like design I guess in the front. I love it. I think it is really beautiful. But because of the gorgeous lace that runs all the way down the front of it I always have to wear something underneath it.


So I'll give you a full look at it. I'll try to turn around here so that you can see the back of it. Hopefully I'm giving you enough of a view there. And sorry if you can hear the crinkling while I was turning around. I am wearing a moon boot from the toe that I broke over Easter.


But anyway, back to this top. Like I said, it's called the Necklace Top and it is now a paid pattern that you can get through Ravelry. I'm not sure if Naama has their own site where they sell these but I I find everything - well I- I - yeah I mainly use the- my Ravelry library for everything. But like I said I did find this one through Instagram.


Anyway. I have knit it in a lace weight yarn by Schoppel-Wolle. it is called 6 Karat and it is the colourway 2235 Give More Green. It's an 80% Merino 20% silk and I believe it's the first time I had ever used silk content. Actually no, that's not true. I did make a pair of mittens that were also a Merino silk blend. So yes, the second time I have used silk and they're the only two projects where I've used silk content in a yarn.


I'm pretty sure most of the other test knitters did this in a solid colour which really helped to emphasise this beautiful lace pattern as well but I think you can - I mean you can definitely see it pretty clearly in this variegated colourway that I've used. And from memory the pattern also called for a cellulose fibre, but I was struggling to find that in the right weight yarn. I did actually find 100% cotton yarn that was in lace weight but I just could not get gauge on that. More evidence that I am a tight knitter. I went up several needle sizes to try to get gauge and it just wasn't producing a fabric that I liked. So I found this Merino silk one that I think worked a lot better.


Is there anything else that I want to say about this top?


From memory it was knit starting at the - with the front piece. So you work from the bottom up and then you go over the shoulders and work down so it is all one piece and then you seam the sides together.



Handy Dandy

Moving on to Handy Dandy.


Bernie's Big Mood Mittens

I have a finished object to show you which are the Bernie's Big Mood mittens by Jess Anderson.



So here they are. I'm pull - I'll put them on. Yes, I'll put them on to show you. They are big for my hand. But the recipient does have bigger hands than I do. Only a little bit. So this is - like I said in the previous episode - they're inspired by the mittens that Bernie Sanders was wearing. And I quite like - I quite like that design on the backs of the mittens there. And then Jess has put the words 'mood' on the inside. Although I guess you could wear them on the outside if you wanted to do it the other way around, but I think it makes sense to have the 'mood' on the inside of them.


So these are ones that I actually knit in the recommended yarn, which was Cascade 220. It's a worsted weight yarn and the pattern did say that it was going to be quite big mittens so I went down a few needle sizes. And I was worried that that would make the fabric really stiff. And it hasn't which is lovely. It's a really nice dense, firm fabric but it is not stiff at all. At least I don't think so. Like I've got, you know, I can just move my hands all around you like this.


So the Cascade 220 is a Peruvian Highland wool. And it was just a really nice yarn to work with. It's easy to see why this is one of the most commonly used yarns out there. I really like the long ribbing on the cuff here. They just hang on to- to my wrist and forearm really snugly. And I guess because they are nice and long as well, they - how do I say this? So when I made the Luna Lovegood Spectrespecs gloves previously, I had commented that they seemed a bit awkward going over my watch. But they had a much shorter cuff. So because these ones are longer and it covers the watch completely, it's not - it doesn't feel like it's just gaping over that the big watch face there and it goes past it and it- and it wraps it pretty nicely. My cousin who these are for doesn't wear a watch, I believe, at all so that won't be a problem for her.


But yeah, I would have gifted this to her already if I could drive but like I said I'm in a moon boot for my broken toe and I haven't been able to go to see her so she'll just have to wait a couple more weeks until I can walk and move around normally again. So yes, that is Bernie's Big Mood by just Anderson.



Redford

Next up in Handy Dandy is the Redford sweater by Julie Hoover. It's Brooklyn Tweed pattern.



So I think I have shown this a couple of episodes ago just to show that it was a pattern that I had been considering for my partner. And I showed him a few different patterns that I had picked out that I thought he might like. But this is the one that I sort of had my heart set on for him. I thought it would suit him the best. I thought he'd like it the best. But it's also the simplest looking so I thought - I gave him some other options that had cables and things like that.


And I knew he'd liked the plain one but I just - sometimes he surprises me with what he likes. Like with socks: he has said that he likes really bright colours that he wouldn't wear anywhere else. And like I found that - that was really unexpected for me so I thought I could be wrong about my assumption in sweater styles, at least for a hand knitted garment. So I can give him the choice. But I was correct and he liked the Redford one the best.


So from the comments I have seen, people have said it's quite technical in the construction of it, so I was really interested by that. So I'm kind of happy that it's a combination of all of this simple stockinette stitch - a lot of nice, mindless, easy stockinette stitch that I can just, you know, just like- just nut out. So this is what I have done so far.


Gosh, that looks really wrinkled and horrible, doesn't it? It'll look better once it's been blocked.


So this is the back piece and I am knitting it in Tarndwarncoort's 4 ply. This is their Origins range in the Ciderhouse Red and they - their yarns are Polwarth wool. So that's the back piece there. I have just gotten up to the bit where I am about to do the shoulder and neck shaping. So it's looking quite long and narrow, but that is because it is - it's constructed in pieces but it's not the four traditional pieces youse ex- you'd expect from a sweater, which is a front piece, a back piece, and then two sleeves. This one has the front piece, the back piece, the two sleeves and then side panels as well. And then it's all seamed together, somehow.


And one of the things that I thought was really interesting is the these front and back pieces are just the stockinette body. There isn't ribbing. And I think - coz I only just skimmed through the pattern - I think once you seam the pieces together, then you knit the ribbing band in one piece with all of them connected. Kind of like how you would normally do a neck band. You wouldn't do that until they're all connected together. So I thought that was really interesting as well. But it makes sense considering this has more pieces than a sort of more standard sweater construction. Yeah, so that'll be really interesting to do.


One other thing that I had noticed in other people's comments is a few people, I think, had said they didn't - they either didn't like or they didn't see the the use of having a twisted chain selvedge, I think is what it's called in the pattern. So it's just a special way of doing slip-stitch edges, if you've ever done that before. I won't explain how to do it because it is paid for a pattern and I don't want to really give anything away.


But I have decided to just - to just go with how the pattern is written. I don't really know what it's going to do or how it's going to behave. And I assume that it's been done for a reason. So I'd like to learn and see and try it out. And yeah, just- just see if I can - if it's gonna work for me. So I'm pretty much doing the pattern as written.


One other interesting thing that pattern had done that I really liked as well is - so it says to- it says to knit for a certain length, which is normal, but then it also gives how many rows that should be. Which I really liked, because that's the way that I normally knit anyway. I don't knit and then take a measuring tape to it and knit with the measuring tape until I actually hit the measurement that is required. I tend to figure out what my gauge is, figure out how many rows it would take to get to the length required, and then knit that number of rows. So I really appreciate that the pattern has already done that math for me. Assuming that you are getting the row gauge of the pattern. And I am not.


But let me explain. So this pattern - I believe it calls for - I'm going to get this wrong now - 23 stitches and 36 rows or something like that. I am getting - the- the swatch that I did got 22 and a half stitches and 35 rows. And I did a decent size swatch. Not a huge one but it was bigger than- than 10 cm wide and 10 cm long, because I was trying to trying to do it properly. But I still think - people like to say that swatches lie. And I guess you know that is true to an extent because you- you're not knitting something - obviously, it's a swatch - you're not knitting something to the size of the finished thing. And because of the weight of this - of a much bigger piece - it is going to act differently.


So my hope is just that with a bigger item that has more weight to it, it'll stretch it. Which will - oh, I don't know if I figured this out right. But anyway, it will stretch it so that the stitches will compress - and I'm sure it will compress more than the half stitch that I need to get from 22.5 stitches in 10 cm to get 23 stitches in 10 cm - and then increase the row gauge as well.


Maybe I should just measure it before I do it. Anyway, I'm confusing myself trying to talk about it.


But yeah, that's- that's how that's going so far. And that has gone quicker than I expected. But I am still afraid that I'm not going to meet my deadline of my partner's birthday - which is less than a month away now and I have only done most of the back piece. So not even finished one whole piece of it. So I really need to get going on that. So I should move on and talk about other things.



Eye Candy

That's it for the knitting items. Before I move on to talking about other crafty makes, I just have a tiny little Eye Candy to share with you.



So last episode, when I was showing you the yarns I had purchased from Tarndwarncoort I forgot to show a couple of just little tiny - not tiny - but other little things that came with it. So I did get this lovely note from them.


"Dear Bobbie, thank you for your order and for all your work online to share skills and info on our craft. Tom and the flock."


So I just thought that was a really nice note. Part of me was starting to feel like I talk about Tarndwarncoort so much or I had - I feel like I've been talking to- talking about them so much in all of my episodes this year. And I was starting to think, 'Oh they're gonna get sick of like seeing me tag them in every bloody post.' But it's nice to know it's appreciated. I mean really, I didn't think that they'd be getting sick of it really. I was kind of just really self conscious that I was always doing it and talking about it. So - talking about them - so that was really nice to get.


And a lovely little surprise is, I also got "A little gift from uncle Noel and the flock." So that little gift was this book, 'The Old Ewe', written by Noel Dennis. So the Dennis family are the family who run the Tarndwarncoort homestead. So this is just a really lovely little story about one of their sheep. So it is - I'll just read you this introduction here.


"Although 'The Old Ewe' was written as a children's book, it is hoped that it may bring an appreciative chuckle to those who know sheep and insight into the wool industry for those who don't."


So it's got all these pretty- these pretty illustrations which are nice and just simple sketches. There's a photo of Uncle Noel there with a sheep, I assume. Yeah, it is the story of one sheep. But, you know, it is- it is a children's story. It is a made up story. So yeah, it's just really nice. It- it sort of touches on like significant events that may go through a sheep's life. Yeah, and it's just - I just thought it was a really nice little read and I was- I was really happy to receive that. So, thank you Tom and the flock for that gift from uncle Noel.



Multicrafty

Next up is Multicrafty.


Spindle spins

So the first craft that I will be talking about is my spinning. So here I have the latest yarn that I have spun on my 3d printed Turkish spindle. So I'll give you a close up of it there.



So this one - like all of my other yarn spun on the Turkish spindle - it is a 3 ply. This one was done from the fold. So you get a staple length of the fibre and fold it over your finger and you're pulling it from the folded section rather than pulling ends of it. So that's supposed to like introduce more air to it and create more of a woollen spun yarn. And then this one I did two plies that were just the grey colour and then another ply that was pink very loosely mixed in with a bit of brown. I think you can see some of that tan colour there.


So just to show you what this spinning journey has looked like - this one here was all in just purely the grey colour. And who knows how I drafted that. It's- I don't really know that I was really paying- paying attention to technique at that point. And it's quite fluffy. It's the fluffiest of them all. It's kind of interesting to see that my progression has gone from really fluffy to a lot more - I don't know how you would call that. It's more like... It's- it's a lot smoother. It's a bit like - I don't know - I don't know how to describe things yet but it's - I guess - it's kind of like cord-ish. And this is really fluffy. Which is interesting because I was making efforts to try woollen but this feels more woolly, and this feels more smooth. So who knows what I'm doing here.


Anyway, this second one is the one where I had like the grey and the pink all together. And I just made one big single out of the whole lot and- and then I chain plied it. So- So this one is three separate spins that were plied together. Which is how this one was done as well. So three- three singles in the grey plied together. One long single in a blend of greys with a bit of pink chain plied. And then this one was two single- singles of grey, one single of pink. So they're all 3 ply yarns and I'm going to do just a little- a little weave of that as a record of those first yarns that I tried to spin. So that's those ones there.



Wheel spins

The spinning that I'm really excited to show you is what I have produced so far from doing the beginner spinning workshop with the spinning wheel with the Handweavers and Spinners Guild of Victoria.



So the first one is this one here. This beautiful Border Leicester Merino, which is done as a 2 ply. I'm so happy with how that has turned out. It looks- It- I mean it just looks more like yarn to me than these do. Like more like a proper yarn. And I just love that you can see- I love how you can see the twist on that there.


And this one hasn't been washed yet. All of these ones have been washed but this one hasn't. Yet. I wanted to do some more spinning and then wash all of these ones together. So this is spun from the fleece. It is spun in the grease. And it is using the Ashford Joy spinning wheel. And yeah, I'm just really happy with how that one has turned out.


And then we were also given some raw alpaca to try out. So I've had some more of this left on one of the bobbins. So a whole other single - I should show it to you actually. I've got it here in my makeshift lazy Kate that is my footstool with a DPN in it. So I still have plenty on there even after doing those two- those two yarns. So I'll use that for another one.


So this one is 1 ply of that Border Leicester and Merino and one ply of alpaca yarn and then I plied those two together. So the alpaca yarn was a grey. I didn't keep any of it aside. I spun up all that I had from the class of it. And then when I plied them together it just made this like beautiful soft colour here. I don't even know what you would- what you would call that. But yeah, I think I was really concerned actually when I was spinning them that the colour difference - because it was kind of like this colour difference - I was really concerned that they wouldn't go together well, but they've just blended so nicely I think.


The thing about it is - so what I didn't know about alpacas is they like to roll in the mud. So that fleece was really dirty. Yeah, it was really dirty. Like as I was spinning it all this dirt was just flying off it. And then when I was done spinning that whole lot, I wound it into a centre pull ball just to see how that would work for plying. And it got a bit tangled when I was actually doing the plying, but that's beside the point.


Even when I was winding it onto this, more dirt was shedding out of it. And then when I plied it, more dirt again was shedding out of it. So when I go to wash, I may wash these - this one without the alpaca - first. And then once these have been taken out, wash that on its own, just so that none of the dirt from this can get into other yarns.


So the next thing that I'm ply- plan- planning plying. The next thing that I'm planning is, I want to try this with three plies and see how that goes. So yeah, I'll hopefully have that to show you in the next episode.



Woven fringe bag

On to weaving. I'm not sure if I ever actually showed you the finished product of this one here. I feel like when I last showed it to you it was still just the long length of the raw weave. So I just- I stitched- I just stitched it by hand. I folded it in half and then I stitched it by hand and just left the top open like that. And it's just a little fold over fringe bag.



I didn't do anything special with this fringe at all. I just did like an overhand knot with four- four of the warp yarns and then I just cut them all to the same length. This bit of pink here, my partner actually wove on the loom. So I started with this end here and I did that pink and my partner took an interest and he- he wanted to try it. So he did that bit there and then I went and did the rest. So it's kind of nice to have a little joint project there.


And then in here I just have some items for weaving. I do have to say I probably- I'm probably going to try to line this at some point because I didn't consider how big this weave is and my tapestry needles that are in here keep poking through and trying to escape. So yeah. Yeah. I think I think that turned out pretty alright. It's useful. Like the- It does what I intended and it's just nice to have this very first weave to keep with my loom and have all my weaving things in it. So that's that pouch there.



Woven child's scarf

The next weaving project I started and finished and gifted since the previous episode, so I don't actually have anything to show here but I'll put photos up.



So this is just a plain weave scarf that I did for my nephew who turned 6 this past weekend. So I knew his birthday was coming up and I thought that this was a really good opportunity for me to practice plain weave properly, because this one I was kind of just beating the heck out of it and I hadn't really looked into the proper way of doing things. So when I did those classes on Craftsy I realised that you're not meant to be just like beating the weft as hard as you can. You want to be placing it. And to get a nice even weave, you want the picks per inch - it's called - to match the ends per inch. So yeah, so I was making more of an effort to do that.


And as I was weaving it, I kept pulling out the tape measure and checking that I was getting 9 picks per inch. I was usually getting 8 actually but I think that's fine because the warp was stretched so the shrinkage would have helped that 8 compress more and match the picks per inch better coz the ends per inch of my loom is 9 ends per inch anyway.


I don't want to go into too much detail of that because I've put together a really rough - a really terrible video on that weave. So if I have that finished by the time this video goes out, I'll link it. If not, and you want to see that progress from start to finish of how I work that - if you'd like to be notified when that video comes out, then please subscribe to my channel and turn on your notifications and you should find out about that soon.


Let's see. I think that's all that I had to say about the Multicrafty.



Eyes and Ears

Next up is Eyes and Ears. So in the last couple of weeks, I have watched a couple of new vlogs.


Jess Knits and Sews

So the first one is Jess Knits and Sews. So Jess is a fellow Aussie. She was actually formerly a fellow Victorian, but earlier this year she moved up to Queensland. So yeah, so I- we're in a group of Aussie podcasters together and unfortunately, I never got to meet her before she moved up to Queensland. She doesn't have many episodes up yet, but I really like the amount of detail that she gives about the projects that she has done. Yeah, and- and she - like partway through her episodes, she has also started her own fashion label. So that was really nice to hear about and see.


So I think I forgot to mention at the very start but the links to everything that I'm talking about will be below. So if you want to see Jess' vlog and learn about this fashion label that she has started that will be linked below as well.



I'll Knit If I Want To (Andrea Mowry)

The other vlog that I started watching is Andrea Mowry's I'll Knit If I Want To. So if you're not aware, Andrea Mowry is quite a well known and much loved knitwear designer.


So it's interesting, she says that she only ever knits her designs because she just doesn't have time to knit other people's designs as much as she would like to. And when she tried after starting - after- after having started making her own designs - when she started knitting other people's patterns, she said that she couldn't turn her design brain off and she'd always abandon those other projects and work on her own. So I mean, I completely understand that.


Part of the reason I think that I hesitated for so long to try design myself is because I- there are so many other patterns out there from so many other brilliant designers that I want to try and I knew that if I did my own designs, I'd have to put so much time into those and I wouldn't get to knit all of these other people's patterns. So that's something that I've sort of juggle - juggle? - I cannot speak today - that is something that I have struggled with, trying to balance working on my own things and working on other people's designs. So that's- that's really interesting to hear her talk about her design journey and how she- how she works and how she knits and what- what she does.


The other interesting thing is that her vlog is purely a Q&A. So I guess because she's, you know, she's always doing her own designs, she's not really going to be sharing, 'Oh, this is the pattern I'm working on at the moment.' She'll hint at when new patterns are about to come out and then show them to you. But she doesn't do the standard, 'This is what I'm working on. These are the patterns that I'm fantasising about knitting,' and all of those kinds of things.


I find it really helpful that she's doing this Q&A format. So you can submit questions for her to answer. And, I mean, all designers are just so knowledgeable but I think it's so wonderful that she's sharing her knowledge in this way. And- And I- yeah. I- I think I've said this before, but I really love vlogs and podcasts that I feel like are helping to improve my skills as a knitter so I've been I've really been loving watching I'll Knit If I Want To. So I highly recommend that.


She has such a vibrant, energetic personality as well. She's like a ray of sunshine. That's- That's what I feel like when I watch her. She just feels like a whole big warm of energising sunshine, bringing joy and passion into my knitting. I really love that and highly recommend her vlog.



Craft for Thought

On to Craft For Thought. This is just going to be another little ramble-y one. I don't really have that much to say.


I- I feel a bit scattered today because I'm a bit tired, which is completely my own fault because I really like reading and I don't- I feel like I don't read a lot anymore because when I do I tend to not sleep because I don't know how to put a book down. And the thing with me as well is, as an adult I find that I don't often seek out new things to read. I'm always just going back to the series that I know that I love. So I do read new books here and there. But I very often go back and read series that I know that I love.


At the moment I am at the last- I'm on the last book of a really long fantasy series. And even though I have read this series many times - and this happens with other series that I reread as well - when I get to the end of it when it's getting all climactic and everything's coming together, I- I really really struggle to stop reading even though I know what's gonna happen now. So like all the way up to it, I'm okay. I can put a book down at a reasonable hour. But when it gets to the end I'm a lost cause, and it's really- it's really terrible.


Like last night for example, I was reading and I could feel myself trying to fall asleep because I was so tired. I do not know what time it was. I try not to look at the clock because I don't want to know how late I've been reading. But I was struggling to keep my eyes open and I just kept telling myself to stay awake and keep reading until I just couldn't anymore because it's just so good and I couldn't stop.


So if you're curious what series that is, I am re-reading the Wheel of Time series. I actually started re-reading it last year because that television series came out and I watched like... I started re-reading it before I started watching the series just because I wanted to refresh myself even though I am so familiar with the story. But I wasn't happy with the series so I stopped after like two or three episodes. But I kept reading the books and now I am near the end and I'm not sleeping.


So it's funny because I can't remember how long ago it was when I was talking again about how... Like my guilt over not being productive. And now I'm not knitting as much because I've been more tired because I haven't been sleeping well because I've been reading too much. But I love reading so much that I don't really- it doesn't make me feel bad about not knitting because I'm still spending that time doing something else that I really really enjoy. Even though it is ruining me.


But part of- part of the- the way that I justify reading so much and not sleeping as well is because I say to myself, 'You just gotta get through it. The quicker you finish the book, the more you can get back to a normal life and a normal schedule and normal sleeping patterns.' I don't know if that's logical and how much sense that makes. It's- It would probably just be better for me to just control myself and let the reading go on for a few more days and get proper sleep and get through everything else that I'm trying to do. But- Yeah anyway.


Especially at this time of my life where I feel like everything that I'm doing has a deadline. So like I said, the Redford sweater I have to get done by mid June. I have less than a month to finish that and I have barely started that. Once that is done - so like three days after I need to gift that - the Colours of Fall knitalong from the Yarniacs will start and I want to cast that on on cast on day which is the winter solstice here in Australia. So I want to cast that on and then that ends in September and I want to do a sweater for that. So that's a-whole-nother sweater with a deadline there.


Another thing that I have due in September is a sweater that I am making for my mother. So I actually started it few years ago, and I only did - it's another one that's knit in pieces - and I've only done the ribbing. And then I got caught up in other deadline knitting and that has been in hibernation for quite a long time but I really want to get it to her for her birthday this year. So that's another deadline.


And then on top of that, I need to go back and finish the blanket that I was knitting earlier in the year so that I can send that off. I also need to finish the re-knitting the front of the Greenwich sweater and send that off as well.


So I have all of these things that have deadlines. Some of them are a bit loose deadlines, but they're still like - they have to be done this year. It's all kind of has to be done around September-ish.


And then on top of that I also couldn't resist signing up for another test knit, which is for Katrina Walser who was Oliphant Kat who is an Aussie designer who is - she's- she's going through the process of really sort of reworking a lot of her patterns for Aussie yarns, which is - I think - is just fabulous. So she has done that to a shawl recently. She's rewritten the pattern for Aussie yarns and she's looking - she was looking for test knitters for that. And I said no initially. I said that I couldn't do it because I have too many deadlines, but then I just couldn't stop thinking about it. And I emailed her and I said, "I have to do this now. Can I please?"


So hopefully, I'll be getting that pattern today. And that's another deadline that I have put on myself because I just can't help it and I just can't stop myself.


So yeah, I think- I think that's enough rambling for today.


Heart Full of Craft

Last on the list - as usual - is Heart Full of Craft.


This may sound odd to some of you out there, but I am grateful for stockinette stitch. Big projects of stockinette stitch. So I know that a lot of people really love doing garter - big garter stitch blankets - because it's just such an easy mindless project to do. All you just do is knit and then turn it and then knit and you just like- you don't need to think about it. You just go and do it. And I've been feeling the same about this here, not having to worry about- about pattern repeats or anything like that.


There were a few - a very, very, very few - increases on this about - I don't know - maybe halfway up and then the rest of it there was just absolutely nothing. It was knitting straight. And it's just been so nice. After all of like the colourwork and everything that I've been doing that I've had to be paying a lot of attention to, it's been so nice just coming to this kind of project where I can just not even think about it. And it's been- it's been great.


I don't know if I mentioned but I've been doing this with lever knitting as well. And even though I'm more comfortable doing continental knitting, I somehow find that with lever meeting I- it's easier for me to not look. So I can just be sitting there and moving, working, knitting and not even like thinking about it. With continental, I still have to - I can do it without looking but I- I feel like I don't- I feel like I don't completely trust my muscle memory and what my fingers can feel as much as I do when I'm doing lever knitting. Lever knitting - it's easy to just be doing like this and with continental I have like- I'm more like looking down constantly.


But anyway. Grateful to beautiful, simple stockinette stitch. So, yes, that is my Heart Full of Craft. And that is all that I have to talk about today.



Thanks!

If you're still here then thank you so much for watching this episode of Bobolog.


All of the links to all of the patterns and yarns and other things that I mentioned are in the YouTube description down below. If you liked this video, please hit that thumbs up and I'd also appreciate it if you also consider subscribing to my channel. You can also find me on Instagram @PlatypusKnitting and I am in Ravelry under BobbieOlan. So you can find links to those profiles down in the description below as well.


I hope that you're all doing well, finding time to spend with the people that you love, and taking time to look after yourselves, relax, craft and do whatever else it is that you enjoy. I'll see you in a couple of weeks.


Fare thee well.


Transcribed by https://otter.ai

 

Resources


Mentions

I'll Knit If I Want To, Andrea Mowry


Patterns (on Ravelry)

Necklace top by Naama Ido

Bernie's Big Mood Mittens by Jess Anderson

Redford by Julie Hoover, Brooklyn Tweed


Yarns (from my LYS, or on Ravelry)

Schoppel-Wolle 6 Karat

Cascade 220

Tarndwarncoort yarns from polwarth sheep

4 Seasons Naturals


I acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land on which I live and create, the Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung people. I pay my respects to their Elders, past, present and emerging, and to all Aboriginal peoples.

 

© 2022 by Bobbie Olan of Platypus Knitting.

bottom of page